My Viral Stories All Had These Things in Common…

📊And it had nothing to do with my headlines!

Trisha Dunbar (She/Her)
4 min readNov 27, 2022
Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

When I first started writing online, I felt like I had to write long-form stories to get any traction.

But then I discovered a pattern with all my stories that had gone viral and semi-viral…

None, of the well-researched stories using my academic skills and knowledge, that took days and even weeks to write, have gone viral…yet!

I thought I’d examine this further…

The first draft for all my stories that have had at least 25k+ views within hours of publication were all written in under 20 minutes and all shared some common patterns too…

Why Those Stories?

They are written from the heart, and all contained personal experiences that anyone can relate to. They are meaningful, but not always my best-written pieces. Some even had cr*ppy headlines, but all were around 600 words in length.

There were other patterns too…

  • They were all written in short bursts.
  • They had a conversational and friendly tone, like the way you would talk to someone if you had a question or thought on your mind and wanted to share it with them without being judgmental.

--

--

Trisha Dunbar (She/Her)

🧠 Sharing my journey #100daysof... challenges 💪 Fitness & Health 📖Reading for Growth | ✍ Writing for Self-Expression 🦣@trishadunbar@me.dm